

### **Government of Gibraltar**

Ministry of Finance No 6 Convent Place Gibraltar

## PRESS RELEASE

No. 232/2011

Date. 1<sup>st</sup> August 2011

#### **Demonetisation of Old Series of Currency Notes**

The public is advised that the following 'old series' currency notes are being withdrawn from circulation:

£5 currency notes with the prefix letter MM;

£20 currency notes with the prefix letter AA;

£20 currency notes with the prefix letter AB;

£20 currency notes with the prefix letter CCC.

These currency notes will continue to be accepted by banks until the end of December 2011. A notice of demonetisation has been issued to provide for the 'old series' currency notes to cease to be legal tender after this date.

Demonetised notes will, however, continue to be accepted by the Ministry of Finance, Treasury Department, at 23 John Mackintosh Square.

Telephone: (350) 20048394, Centrex 2526; Fax: (350) 20074552, Centrex 2558



# 31st December 2011

# Withdrawal of Gibraltar Currency notes from circulation

£5MM 2000 Series

£20AA 1995 Series



£20AB 2006 Series

£20CCC 2004 Series



These notes can be used until the 31st of December 2011. The Government of Gibraltar, Treasury Department will always exchange its old notes.



